Rudy Ramjeawan, DUI
You have been stopped by the local Law Enforcement after a night out with friends. After failing a field sobriety test, you are informed that you are being arrested for a DUI. The State of Florida has an implied consent law, whereas any driver that is arrested for a DUI is required to submit to a blood, urine or breathalyzer test, at the discretion of the arresting Police Officer. If refused, the Police Officer may take your driver’s license and for a first offense, it can be suspended for a period of 12 months. However, there are ways to defend the refusal to take these tests and defense strategies for the arrest;
- The Police Officer has to prove that he had probable cause to arrest you.
- The Police Officer needs to read a specific warning before giving a breathalyzer test.
- Were your read Miranda rights?
- Do you have a language barrier?
- If there was an automobile accident whereas you hit your head, you may have been unable to make a decision at the time.
- Has the breathalyzer been properly maintained? Is the blood alcohol reading reliable?
- Involuntary intoxication can occur when alcohol or a drug is given to a person without their knowledge.
These are just some of the defenses that an experienced Law Office, like the Law Office of Rudy Ramjeawan, in Kissimmee, Florida, will explore.
A DUI conviction will remain on your driving record for 75 years. It can have devastating effects on your future ability to maintain employment and can cost you exorbitant automobile insurance premiums. Likely, you will be doing court appointed community service, participating in drunken driving education and jail time. Other negative effects of a conviction are that it can impact on your ability to rent a car and negate scholarship opportunities. In short, it will have long reaching consequences on many aspects of your future life.
For a driver under the age of 21 years, an illegal blood alcohol level is .02% or higher. In contrast, an illegal blood alcohol level for an adult is.08% or higher. If this is your first conviction, you will be fined, $500-$2000. If your blood alcohol level is .15% or higher, or you have a minor in the vehicle, the fine will be fined, $2000-$4000. You will serve a mandatory 50 hours of community service or an additional fine of $10 for each hour of required community service. The total period of probation and incarceration will not be greater than one year. A hardship license can be applied for, in order to attend work or school.
For subsequent arrests and convictions, for the 2nd, 3rd, 4th and other DUI convictions, the penalties are harsher and more restrictive. A DUI that causes serious bodily injury is classified as a third degree felony, with penalties of up to 5 years in prison or 5 years of probation, with a $5000 fine. A conviction will likely also result in a restitution award to compensate the victim for his or her losses.
Schedule a consultation with the experienced Law Office of Rudy Ramjeawan. Let us fight for your rights with dedication and strong representation.
Schedule a free consultation
Begin the process of clearing your name and defending your rights today. Whether you’re in Orlando, Kissimmee, St. Cloud or anywhere in Florida, call the Ramjeawan Law Group, P.A., at 407-348-7839 for your FREE initial consultation. Walk-in clients are always welcome, too.